Skip Navigation

Community Leaders Say “Stay Home”

Friday, March 20, 2020

Greater Jefferson county and surrounding community leaders and their staffs have been working diligently assessing and preparing for the potential of the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) spread to the greater Jefferson County through regular calls to update, communicate and collaborate. The group is working well and feels prepared to respond to community needs.

The community leaders are united in asking members of the community to please stay home. Right now it is of the upmost importance to use social distancing. You’re potentially putting yourself and others in harm’s way by going out and circulating through the community.

Some good examples of social distancing are working from home, visiting loved ones by electronic device instead of in person and cancelling or postponing conferences, meetings and events. With technology it is easy for people to stay connected while staying safe and at home. There is limited capacity and resources of our community departments and programs and if people do not follow social distancing we are putting those capacities at great risk. If everyone follows this practice the risk of spreading COVID-19 (Coronavirus) is reduced.

The Jefferson County group consists of Jefferson County Emergency Management Director: Donna Haugom, County Administrator: Ben Wehmeier, Health Department Director: Gail Scott, Human Services Director: Kathi Cauley, United Way Director: Megan Hartwick, CEO Fort HealthCare: Michael Wallace, Watertown Health Foundation: Tina Crave, CEO Watertown Regional Medical Center: Richard Keddington, the following are City Administrators or Mayors that are part of the team: Cameron Clapper – City of Whitewater,  City of Watertown, Emily McFarland, Kyle Ellefson – Village of Johnson Creek, Matt Trebatoski – City of Fort Atkinson, Mo Hansen – City of Waterloo, Steve Wilke – City of Lake Mills, Tim Freitag – City of Jefferson and County Board Chair James Schroeder.